The review for this one is a bit late but nevertheless it is a perfect time of year to begin talking about Winterfylleth again. This compilation is my first exposure to the band so I’m writing purely from a new fan’s point of view, which is perfect for anyone reading this who hasn’t heard of them until now as The Fathers of Albion is a great introduction to learning Winterfylleth’s work.

Being almost 2 hours long it covers PLENTY of their best compositions. Ranging from 2007 to 2012, the compilation goes over many phases and styles that the band has gone through over the years. Honestly hearing this was a pleasant surprise. Winterfylleth write a great blend of melodic and atmospheric black metal that seems to arise from pure and raw emotion. A lot of the chord progressions being melancholy and sombre it ends up being the perfect blend of melody and heaviness. Their song structure is quite intelligent and a lot of work was put into organization of these songs. In fact, I’d go as far as saying that there seems to almost be a “Winterfylleth formula” and it works really well.

This compilation is absolutely perfect. Whether you’re a new fan wanting to learn more about their discography or a veteran purchasing it as a collectors item, this anthology is one of the best ones to come out for any band in a long time. Furthermore this is definitely worth a listen if you’re in a snowy area this winter as the bitter cold enhances every bit of this beautiful music.

Track Listing:

01. The Divination of Antiquity
02. Whisper of the Elements
03. Warrior Herd
04. A Careworn Heart
05. Foundations of Ash
06. The World Ahead
07. Over Borderlands
08. Forsaken In Stone
09. Mam Tor (The Shivering Mountain)
10. Casting the Runes
11. The Ghost of Heritage
12. Abbots Bromley Horn Dance
13. John Barleycorn
14. The Three Ravens
15. The Gates

Running Time: 100.00
Release Date: 24th April 2015

Check out the song: “The Glorious Plain”