For over two decades and twelve albums My Dying Bride have been inflicting their Gothic doom over the metal world and, in doing so, have become a talisman for the genre they helped shape all those years ago.

The group’s thirteenth album, Feel The Misery, sees original guitarist Calvin Robertshaw return to the fold, but thankfully not a return to the electronic experiments that were featured on the last album on which he played. In fact, in terms of style, this is a very typical My Dying Bride album. Dark, gloomy and very atmospheric, the band are clearly in their comfort zone, but when your comfort zone produced tracks as good as “And My Father Left Forever” who are we to say it’s a bad thing?

My Dying Bride might be playing it safe, they might be in their comfort zone, call it what you want, but Feel The Misery is still a very good album and, in truth, doesn’t need to reinvent the wheel… the band did that years ago. What it does show, however, is just what a master of their craft My Dying Bride remain.

Track Listing:

01. And My Father Left Forever
02. To Shiver In Empty Halls
03. A Cold New Curse
04. Feel The Misery
05. A Thorn Of Wisdom
06. I Celebrate Your Skin
07. I Almost Loved You
08. Within A Sleeping Forest

Run Time: 64:13
Release Date: September 18, 2015

Check out the song “Feel The Misery” here.