Muse is band made up of fantastic musicians who know their instruments well. Excluding this record, they’ve mixed and mastered their own albums before too. However the goal to change things up and have a more straight forward approach didn’t really feel present. Drones did not differ much from 2nd Law (2012), but that isn’t a bad thing. It’s something you would unequivocally expect from Muse but at the end of the day, it’s damn good music.

As great as this one is, there’s a feeling of something lacking. For example in “The Globalist” there is heavy build up to what seems like is going to be the climax of the song, but that moment never reveals its face. The song gently decrescendos back down to where it started, leaving the listener wondering where the big moment went. The beginning of the album feels more alive than the end, but overall Drones is pretty consistent in structure and emotion. Songs like “Psycho” applying quotes from the movie Full Metal Jacket was an awesome bonus for fans of the movie and it just makes that song feel more amusing.

Despite its minor flaws, Drones is definitely a must have for any fan of Muse. The band stays true to their progressive roots and always manages to throw in their signature style in each release. If you’re a long time fan, definitely pick this one up (and I’m willing to bet you already have!).

Track listing:

01. Dead Inside
02. [Drill Sergeant]
03. Psycho
04. Mercy
05. Reapers
06. The Handler
07. [JFK]
08. Defector
09. Revolt
10. Aftermath
11. The Globalist
12. Drones

Running time: 52:40
Release date: 05 June, 2015

Check out the music video for “Psycho” here!