Full disclosure, up until this point I haven’t been the biggest of Clutch fans. Yes, I realise thousands of people are but, for whatever reason, I just could never really get on board the Clutch train; that is, until I sat back and listened to their newest offering, Psychic Warfare.

The moment “The Affidavit” got this bad boy rolling, I was captivated. The guys have mastered a perfect blend of ’70s hard rock with a 2015 metal sensibility and the result is just fantastic. It is unpretentious, organic, heavy music that really gets into your soul and is a conundrum of sorts as it’s simultaneously raw and gritty, but also has a great big, modern day production.

If you’re a fan of the riff then you’re going to dig this record; it is loaded with tons of original riffs that held my interest for the full duration. Honestly, I don’t think there is a bad track on here but, if forced, I would have to say “Sucker For The Witch” and “Sons Of Virginia” are my favorites.

I imagine the band’s fans are totally digging this record and, if like I once was, you’re on the fence about their music, then check out Psychic Warfare and I think you’ll find your feet firmly planted in the Clutch camp.

Track Listing:

01. The Affidavit
02. X-Ray Visions
03. Firebirds
04. A Quick Death In Texas
05. Sucker For The Witch
06. Your Love Is Incarceration
07. Doom Saloon
08. Our Lady of Electric Light
09. Noble Savage
10. Behold the Colossus
11. Decapitation Blues
12. Sons Of Virginia

Run Time: 39:38
Release Date: October 2, 2015

Check out the song “X-Ray Visions” here.