Connect with us

Album Review

The Wonder Years – “No Closer To Heaven” [Album Review]

The Wonder Years’ No Closer To Heaven, via Hopeless Records, is the new record and it’s a hit. It delivers hooks and guitar parts that have been proudly assembled.



The Wonder Years are a band that have escalated to the top of the pop punk platform. They’re an act that have propelled to dizzying heights, mastering their sound as they walk with pride bulging in their stomachs. Lead by the enigmatic Dan “Soupy” Campbell, they’ve thrown the right dart at the proverbial bulls-eye, and come out on top.

Their music could be perceived as being pessimistic and depressive, but that’s what makes the band extraordinary. They’re damaged and muddled, often describing the world as a demonic place, a stormy land full of danger and obstacles. They’re right, it is, it’s not as safe as we think. And by conveying pain through the music, the band are just letting off steam and convincing us of our sins.

No Closer To Heaven is the new record and it’s a hit. It delivers hooks and guitar parts that have been proudly assembled. The lyrics are sombre and punchy too, often controversial but ever so poetic. And you WILL fall in love with them if you’re accustomed to the darker side of storytelling.

No Closer To Heaven starts with “Brothers &” which opens with a shudder of guitar that is soothing. A crowd begin to sing and bellow, it will put you in the mood for what’s to come. “I Don’t Like Who I Was Then” is a masterful, pulsating, pop punk masterpiece; The guitar lashes the mind while the desperate vocals describe a man who doesn’t want to disengage or mess things up. He wants to be loved and wants to love. “A Song For Ernest Hemingway” is also engaging and stark. Dan “Soupy” Campbell bellows out his grievances as the loud and fast-paced guitar influence keeps the momentum flowing.

The Wonder Years battle-hard on No Closer To Heaven. Their sound is pop-punk gold, with pessimism grabbing the core of their music.

Track Listing:

01. Brothers &
02. Cardinals
03. A Song for Patsy Cline
04. I Don’t Like Who I Was Then
05. Cigarettes & Saints
06. The Bluest Things on Earth
07. A Song for Ernest Hemingway
08. Thanks for the Ride
09. Stained Glass Ceilings
10. I Wanted So Badly to Be Brave
11. You in January
12. Palm Reader
13. No Closer to Heaven

Run Time: 45:16
Release Date: September 4, 2015

Check out the song “Cigarettes & Saints” here.