Connect with us

Album Review

Amaranthe – “Breaking Point – B-Sides 2011-2015” [Album Review]

B-Sides often tend to be a departure from the sound with which a particular act is associated and Amaranthe’s eight-track offering Breaking Point is no different, but that’s by no means a bad thing.



At the end of the month, these Swedish melodic metallers will add to their discography (three albums and one EP) by releasing Breaking Point, a digital-only compilation of B-sides. Originally called “Avalanche,” this Gothenburg-based six-piece formed in 2008 before changing their name a year later.

B-Sides often tend to be a departure from the sound with which a particular act is associated and this eight-track offering is no different. Gone (for the most part) are the heavy riffs and earth-shattering death growls (courtesy of Henrik Englund) and in come powerful acoustic renditions of some of their best known songs – plus a couple of lesser known tunes from the group’s early days.

“Hunger,” a track from their 2011 self-titled debut, is an example of the former. Here it is given a new, folk-tinged, almost medieval beauty, thanks largely to the group’s two “clean” vocalists “Jake E” Lundberg and Elize Ryd. Their voices again combine to melodic perfection on the slightly darker “Afterlife,” before Ryd gets the chance to show what she can do at the start of the other-worldly “Amaranthine,” Lundberg joining her later on.

Celtic influences come to the fore on “Burn with Me,” while the emotive “True” has echoes of Tori Amos at her finest. The aforementioned death growls make a welcome return on the more frenetic “Breaking Point” and “Splinter in My Soul,” the two tracks from the vaults.

I hadn’t heard of this band before, but I’m very glad to have been introduced to their music and will be watching with something close to baited breath to see what they do next.

Track Listing:

01. Hunger (Acoustic)
02. Afterlife (Acoustic)
03. Amaranthine (Acoustic)
04. Burn With Me (Acoustic)
05. Trinity (Acoustic)
06. True (Acoustic)
07. Breaking Point
08. Splinter In My Soul

Run Time: 27:38
Release Date: October 30, 2015

Check out the song “True” here.