Kataklysm are an odd band; they consistently produce high quality albums and are rightly thought of as one of the best death metal acts around; however, over twenty years into their career they have (arguably) yet to produce a truly classic album. With the release of Of Ghosts And Gods though, the group are looking to buck that trend.

The early signs are good with “The Black Sheep” setting the bar exceptionally high with its brutality and great, catchy groove elements. “Carrying Crosses” is another great example of the Kataklysm putting it all together perfectly. The other eight tracks, however, don’t quite come up to this standard but are nonetheless some very good tunes! Alas it is this slight dip in quality, plus the fact that they outweigh the aforementioned great tracks, that stop this from being a “classic” album.

Don’t get me wrong, Of Ghosts And Gods is hugely enjoyable, in fact, it’s a typical Kataklysm album with all of the standard traits present and, as such, will probably be one of the best death metal albums of the year. Sadly, once again the band have failed in their quest to produce that defining record that will go down as an all-time classic.

Track Listing:

01. Breaching The Asylum
02. The Black Sheep
03. Marching Through Graveyards
04. Thy Serpents Tongue
05. Vindication
06. Soul Destroyer
07. Carrying Crosses
08. Shattered
09. Hate Spirit
10. The World Is A Dying Insect

Run Time: 45:58
Release Date: July 31, 2015

Check out the song “Hate Spirit” here.