That’s it, I’m old! It’s been 20 years since Silverchair released their outstanding debut, Frogstomp… 2 decades, sheesh! Enter 2015 and lead vocalist Daniel Johns has resurrected as an entirely new kind of artist, and it’s quite a departure from the days of loud guitars and heavy drum beats. Let me introduce you to… Talk.

Talk is 15 solid electronic-tinged R&B tracks that, upon listening, will basically instantly impregnate you. So what does this sweet baby-making album sound like? Well, for starters, it’s an eclectic mix of soul and urban pop with flares of synth-pop and multi-layered R&B melodies. It’s basically modern soul at its best. That being said, even though the album is predominantly sultry and smooth, there remain some upbeat tracks (see “Going On 16”).

From young adult rocker to captivating soul artist, this is Daniel Johns. It definitely might not resonate with the majority of Silverchair enthusiasts, but that doesn’t mean this isn’t some primo music from a clearly supremely-talented musician. No babies were made during the making or reviewing of this album, but I can guarantee tons of them will be while listening to it.

Track Listing:

01. Aerial Love
02. We Are Golden
03. By Your Side
04. Preach
05. Too Many
06. Cool On Fire
07. Imagination
08. Dissolve

09. Chained
10. Sleepwalker
11. Faithless
12. Warm Hands
13. Going on 16
14. New York
15. Good Luck

Run Time: 60:00
Release Date: May 22, 2015

Check out the song “Aerial Love” here.