In the nearly two decades that Children Of Bodom have been gracing us with their distinctive sound there is no doubt that they have released countless classic songs, but if we’re really being honest, their last truly great album, Hatecrew Deathroll, was released some twelve years ago. I Worship Chaos is their fifth offering to date, so it’s about time they stepped up their game and gave us another monster!

First thing to note about I Worship Chaos is that this was the first Bodom release to be recorded as a four-piece. That said, though long-time guitarist Roope Latvala left the band, sonically, it hasn’t made a huge difference. Opener “I Hurt” has all the ingredients of a classic Bodom track and the follow-up, “My Bodom,” continues in the same vein, getting the album off to a great start. This is only a start, however, as the rest of I Worship Chaos doesn’t quite share the same intensity or focus, something which has plagued Bodom albums for years. There are some exceptions though, as both the title track and “Suicide Bomber” also perfectly demonstrate what Bodom are capable of.

I Worship Chaos is a good album, certainly better than the last couple they have released, but to call it a great album would be pushing it. There are of course the standout tracks that every Bodom album has, but there still appears to be too much filler, albeit decent filler. I have no doubt that Bodom are capable of producing another great recording, but for some reason it’s been a while since they’ve managed to put it all together.

Track Listing:

01. I Hurt
02. My Bodom ( I Am The Only One)
03. Morrigan
04. Horns
05. Prayer For The Afflicted
06. I Worship Chaos
07. Hold Your Tongue
08. Suicide Bomber
09. All For Nothing
10. Widdershins

Run Time: 45:47
Release Date: October 2, 2015

Check out the song “Morrigan” here.