Connect with us

Album Review

Wilson – “Right To Rise” [Album Review]

Right To Rise might not be as full-on relentless as its predecessor, but there is certainly plenty on here to warrant inviting Wilson back to your party again!



“Five dudes with big beards and big dicks” was how Detroit scumbags Wilson described themselves on their last album, Full Blast Fuckery. Can’t comment on the size of their, ahem, weapons, but, whatever because their brand of anthemic, sleazy trash rock was enough to put a smile on my face. Wind the clock forward to 2015 and, with a brand new deal, these chaos-causing party animals are back.

Title track “Right To Rise” kicks the album off and the first thing you notice is how, dare I say it, more grown-up the whole thing sounds. Whereas their debut was an in-your-face blast of Skid Row meets WASP holding a college party rage, Right To Rise feels more mature. Fuck, I hate that word. Don’t worry though, the grooves are there, the slightly unhinged edge is still there too but, listening to tracks like “Guilty (You’re Already Dead)” and Southern drawl of “The Flood”, it seems like Wilson have refined their sound.

Thankfully though, there are plenty of moments on the album where the balls-out fury that shaped their debut album, kicks down the door of this party, spills beer over the carpet and turns the stereo up to twelve. “Hang With The Devil” is a full throttle blast of anthemic rock while the snotty, sleazy stomp of “Satisfy Me” certainly hits the spot.

A few years ago, when Wilson turned up waving their dicks about ready to party, they were exactly the kind of band we needed as they had that “didn’t give a fuck” attitude that was sorely missing from rock music. Full Blast Fuckery was the kind of album from the kind of band that could turn your party into absolute mayhem. While Right To Rise still has plenty of moments where Wilson still really fuck shit up, for the most part it feels like you’re listening to a band who’ve discovered life can be just as fun when it isn’t a full-blast fuck-up.

Track listing:

01. Right to Rise
02. Guilty (You’re already dead)
03. Crave
04. Windows Down!
05. All My Friends
06. Satisfy Me
07. The Flood
08. Hang with the Devil
09. I am the Fly
10. Give em Hell
11. Waiting for the World
12. Before I Burn

Run Time: 42:44
Release Date: June 29, 2015

Check out the song “Hang With The Devil” here.

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.