Melbourne hardcore chaps Deez Nuts are back with their fourth album Word Is Bond and it’s nice to see that, as opening track ‘Word’ kicks in, they’re as raging as ever!

Comprising of fourteen tracks of thrashing mayhem from the Aussies, Word Is Bond is an exhilarating blast of crossover thrashy hardcore. Mixing the old school rage of crossover bands like SOD with the modern day twist of bands like Municipal Waste, songs like ‘What’s Good’ are chock full of riffs capable of setting off the kind of mosh pits familiar to us who grew up on the 80s thrash scene. “What I Gotta Do” epitomizes the aggressive, relentless delivery preferred by Deez Nuts while ‘Don’t Wanna Talk About It’ is quite simply the kind blood-spilling rager that has resulted in many a thrasher waking up the next morning with a tooth or two missing.

Add to the mix frontman JJ’s almost rap-like vocal delivery and you have just over half an hour of furious crossover thrashcore. Word Is Bond may not be to everyone’s taste but if you’re yearning for the days when you left the pit with blood streaming out of your nose, Deez Nuts have provided the perfect soundtrack on this album.

Track Listing:

01. Word
02. Yesterday
03. Pour Up
04. What’s Good?
05. Behind Bars
06. What I Gotta Do
07. Chess Boxin’
08. Don’t Wanna Talk About It
09. Face This On My Own
10. Wrong Things Right
11. Understand
12. Party At The Hill
13. The Message
14. Word Is Bond

Run Time: 34:56
Release Date: 27th April 2015

Check out the video for ‘What I Gotta Do’ here.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.