The Skinny: U.S. death metal trio Ectovoid will release the sophomore album Dark Abstraction on July 17th 2015 via Hellthrasher Productions. The band has just shared the second advance track “Mental Netherworlds” which can now be streamed just above!

Dark Abstraction was written throughout the past three years and features eight brand new songs that shift the band’s sound to new spheres, while remaining true to the morbid and punishing ancient death metal of their roots.

Ectovoid’s drummer, C.M., comments: “We focused our efforts on making this album a step forward from our debut in all dimensions – production, musicianship, songwriting, and lyrics. We were fortunate to be able to collaborate with two fellow musicians in the creation of this album who we greatly respect – Joshua Freemon of Hellgoat handled all recording and mixing, while Damian Herring of Horrendous mastered the album. Both of their inputs were invaluable from the technical side of things and the results are clear when hearing the production. Musically, we pushed ourselves to create songs that were darker, heavier, more intricate, and more otherwordly than anything we had written previously. We are proud of the final outcomes and feel that this album perfectly represents our vision as a band.”

Dark Abstraction Track Listing:

01. Obscure Altars
02. Visions Of Reflective Decay
03. Mental Netherworlds
04. Precipice Of Absolute Chaos
05. Rituals Of Hallucination
06. The Expanse Between Slumber And Death
07. A Prisoner Of Paradox
08. Spawned From Unending Mystery


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.