Connect with us

Album Review

Therapy? – “Disquiet” [Album Review]

Disquiet sees loveable Irish rogues Therapy? return with more of that catchy Brit rock that has made you love them for most of your adult life!



In the early 90’s Irish rockers Therapy? were a band who were loved by everyone. The rockers loved them, the punks loved them, the indie kids loved them, the students loved them. Hell, even mainstream radio played their brand of gritty, catchy, punky rock. Well, we’re now in 2015 and while they may never have been able to recapture the popularity of that Troublegum era, the Irish band have doggedly battled through their career producing a back catalogue most bands would die for.

Aside from the odd blip along the way, Therapy? have consistently delivered albums their fans worship without really veering from their path and their latest offering Disquiet is no different. Therapy? still show they’re the masters of writing three minute slices of dark, edgy, slightly disturbing punk rock. Punk rock tinged with pop hooks the size of mountains. “Good News Is No News” is a perfect example with Cairns snapping “Everything’s a fucking drama” before the chorus kicks in and you’re singing and bouncing along without a care in the world. You see, Cairns dark, unhinged lyrics have become a staple of any Therapy? album and, while he may be older, wiser and a lot greyer, inside that head of his are a whole books of lyrics that would keep a therapist in business for the rest of his days. Yes, it’s all done with tongue planted firmly in cheek and a massively cheeky grin on his face but the underlying tone is fucking dark.

While Disquiet doesn’t offer up anything new for Therapy? fans, those same hardcore fans will lap up the likes of “Fall Behind” where Cairns snaps “everything is totally fucked” showing that, while the music industry might be in total disarray, you can always rely on Therapy? to help you through it.

Track Listing:

01. Still Hurts
02. Tides
03. Good News Is No News
04. Fall Behind
05. Idiot Cousin
06. Helpless Still Lost
07. Insecurity
08. Vulgar Display of Power
09. Words Fail Me
10. Torment Sorrow Misery Strife
11. Deathstimate


Run Time: 41:46
Release Date: 09 December, 2014

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.