When thinking about progressive black metal you don’t really need to look much further than Enslaved. Since their formation back in the early nineties, the band have been pushing boundaries and experimenting with the genre, perhaps more than anyone, and you can’t argue that it hasn’t worked for them. Thirteen albums in and they are still producing new, original, and most of all intriguing albums, the latest of which is In Times.

Opening track “Thurisaz Dreaming” kicks off in a more traditional black metal way but it doesn’t take long for those progressive elements, for which Enslaved are known, to appear. With the shortest track “Nauthir Bleeding” still clocking in at over eight minutes, In Times doesn’t always make for an easy listen, but to me that’s a good thing. An Enslaved album should be something that you really have to listen to in order to fully understand and appreciate, and this one certainly ticks those boxes.

In Times isn’t a huge leap forward style-wise for Enslaved, but it doesn’t need to be. It’s the small details and little intricacies that make this one of Enslaved’s finest works to date.

Track Listing:

01. Thurisaz Dreaming
02. Building With Fire
03. One Thousand Years Of Rain
04. Nauthir Bleeding
05. In Times
06. Daylight

Run Time: 53:08
Release Date: March 9, 2015

Check out the song “One Thousand Years Of Rain” here.