At present, it seems that being a metal band from Australia is all you need to have to gain some media recognition; it looks to be the cool place from where to be. This recognition, however, is in no small part due to the hard work and breakout success that a few bands have managed to achieve. Psycroptic are one of these such acts and, with this self-titled effort, the band have now racked up six albums in total.

Over the years Psycroptic’s style might not have changed a huge amount, but as of late it is certainly more refined and focused. This is clearly displayed on the thoughtful yet punishing track “Cold,” while “Setting The Skies Ablaze” is just a full-out assault on your senses, and “Sentence Of Immortality” remains something different altogether. This said, Psycroptic is the sign of a band maturing without losing their identity, and the results are very impressive.

Psycroptic have played a large part in the attention that Australian metal is currently receiving and, while they continue to produce work of this quality, you can only expect more acts to follow in their footsteps.

Track Listing:

01. Echoes To Come
02. Ending
03. A Soul Once Lost
04. Cold
05. Setting The Skies Ablaze
06. Ideals That Wont Surrender
07. Sentence Of Immortality
08. The World Discarded
09. Endless Wandering

Run Time: 37:50
Release Date: March 9, 2015

Check out the song “Cold” here.