The Skinny: “Shudder Before The Beautiful,” the opening track off the upcoming eighth studio album by Finland-based symphonic metal storytellers Nightwish, is available for streaming in its entirety on via YouTube – listen below. Evolutionary biologist, writer, and atheist Richard Dawkins narrates the introduction to the album’s opener.

Endless Forms Most Beautiful will be released in North America on March 31st. To pre-order the new album in various physical formats, visit the Endless Forms Most Beautiful landing page here.

Produced by Tero “TeeCee” Kinnunen, the title for Endless Forms Most Beautiful was taken from the writings of English naturalist Charles Darwin; the album features the participation of London’s The Metro Voices choir group, London’s Young Musicians Children’s Choir, and the Orchestre De Grandeur led by the esteemed orchestral arranger Pip Williams, who teaches Music and Music Technology at the London College of Music. Professor Richard Dawkins not only narrates the introduction to the album’s opener, “Shudder Before The Beautiful,” but also the album’s closer, “The Greatest Show On Earth,” which takes its name from his 2009 book on evolution.

Endless Forms Most Beautiful Track Listing:

01. Shudder Before The Beautiful
02. Weak Fantasy
03. Élan (order the digital single here, which includes the non-album bonus track “Sagan”)
04. Yours Is An Empty Hope
05. Our Decades In the Sun
06. My Walden
07. Endless Forms Most Beautiful
08. Edema Ruh
09. Alpenglow
10. The Eyes Of Sharbat Gula
11. The Greatest Show On Earth


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.