No Sleep Records

By Natalie Paterson

Daisyhead’s first full-length album, The Smallest Light, dropped on March 3rd, and it is a treat all around. The alt-rockers based out of Nashville, Tennessee have been on the scene since releasing their debut EP in 2013. Daisyhead consists of Zach Chiarizzio on bass and vocals, Michael Roe on vocals and guitar, Curtis DuRard on guitar, and Chad Burroughs on drums.

The album itself consists of 11 tracks, all with a similar punk rock vibe, reminiscent of bands from the late 90s and early 2000s. Some of the standout tracks include the title track, ‘The Smallest Light,’ ‘I Didn’t Deserve This,’ and ‘East Bend’. These resonated a lot more for me because there was a lot more emotional vulnerability that shone through, and they mix in very well with the upbeat, harder vibe of the rest of the album.

Apart from the aforementioned, additional highlight tracks for me are ‘Defenselessness,’ ‘Lacking Basis,’ and ‘Take’. These all had more of a Radiohead feel, very reminiscent of what I listened to in middle school, and all bringing the same punk vibe to the rest of the album.

The album is available now, and I’d definitely consider picking this one up. It’s really awesome for a bit of a throwback to the punk rock that many of us grew up with.