The Skinny: Generation of Vipers is available for pre-order HERE and will be released tomorrow, February 3rd. Purchases of the album via Bandcamp will also receive a physical copy of the album and the download is mastered for digital play. The album’s amazing artwork was done by Vance Kelly (Huntress, Down, Prong). Today the album is streaming in its entirety via SoundCloud – listen below.

Concept albums are not new territory in metal by any means. But Northern Virginia’s Yesterday’s Saints elevate the notion of conceptual metal to a whole other level, thanks to the rich, extensive storytelling and the pummeling metal in Generation of Vipers. The music is as smart and thought provoking as it is extreme, that’s not an easy thing to do. Striking an artful balance is difficult, but Yesterday’s Saints make it seem easy.

The album is assembled like an opera, with three acts, along with an instrumental interlude and outro. It traces the story of Satan, one of the most notorious characters in history, throughout time, from his desire to usurp God’s throne to his modern infiltration of mankind to the indication that all of Earth’s inhabitants are now his descendants.

Generations of Vipers Track Listing:

ACT I (Primarily Melodic Death):
01. Fall of the Ancients
02. Origen Adamantius
03. The Recruitment
04. A Priori
ACT II (Doom/Rock, Power and Thrash):
05. Sangreale
06. Cain’s Agony
07. Sands of Nod
ACT III (Thrash and Melodic Death):
08. Generation of Vipers
09. Divine Tragedy
10. Recursion
11. Luctus in Mane


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.