The Skinny: London-based electro-rock hybrid band Modestep have announced the May 25 release of their highly anticipated second album London Road (Max Records/INgrooves), along with unveiling the album’s track listing/cover art (below) and premiering the lead single “Machines” via SoundCloud.

London Road–available now for pre-order at iTunes in addition to exclusive album pre-order bundles, including physical and vinyl versions of the album, being available at–comes complete with 12 intense, bass-laden tracks, all produced by the quartet, who expand upon their rock, dubstep and electro hybrid sound to create a homage to their hometown. “Machines” is available now as an Instant Grat on iTunes for fans who pre-order the album there (meaning the song will automatically download to iTunes for fans that complete their pre-order purchase).

London Road, say brothers Josh and Tony Friend, is the real deal, an accurate representation of the four-piece they’ve become, and a passionate tribute to their home city. “We got into this music from going out to London clubs,” Josh, explains, “We were lucky enough to have that access. Now this music has blown up all over the world but it came from here, the British created this vibe by drawing from parts of London that are so darkly atmospheric. We want to push that, to show those roots.” “London Road has been an amazing opportunity to get on board with some of the best talent we’ve ever seen,” adds Tony, “and to push the boundaries of what they do, what Modestep do, and what we can do together.”

London Road Track Listing:

01. Damien (Modestep & Funtcase)
02. Make You Mine (Modestep & Teddy Killerz)
03. Machines
04. On Our Own (Modestep & Culprate)
05. Feel Alive
06. Rainbow (Modestep & The Partysquad)
07. Snake
08. Nightbus Home
09. Seams
10. Sing (Modestep & Trolley Snatcha)
11. Circles (Modestep & Skindred)
12. Game Over (Modestep & Rude Kid ft. Big Narstie, Dialect, Discarda, Flowdan, Frisco & LayZ)


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.