The Skinny: Dutch death metal practitioners, Apophys (ah/po/fihs) – who feature within their bestial ranks members of God Dethroned, Prostitute Disfigurement, Detonation and Toxocara among others – are readying to release their debut full-length, Prime Incursion, this spring (April 7th, 2015) via Metal Blade Records. Prepare for the takeover with third cut, “Requiem For The Absurd,” now just above.

A word derived from Apophis, an asteroid that, upon initial observations, indicated a probability that it would hit Earth on April 13th, 2029 causing a collision of immeasurable proportions, Apophys was forged in 2012 and have since been surgically carving their path within the annals of the modern death metal scene. Prioritizing song structure above technicality, Apophys manifests an audio assault that’s at once vicious, guttural and meticulously-arranged yet wholly organic and infectiously memorable recalling the repugnant charm of death metal legends like Cannibal Corpse, Suffocation, Immolation and Pyrexia. Mixed by vocalist Kevin Quilligan and mastered by Stefano Morabito at 16th Cellar Studio (Fleshgod Apocalypse, Hour Of Penance etc.), the band’s forthcoming Prime Incursion long player boasts nine sadistic hymns of Sci-Fi-tinged death metal centered on themes ranging from transcendental travel, rapid evolutionary progression, and global epidemics, to artificial intelligence in all-out war with their maker.

Prime Incursion Track Listing:

01. Dimensional Odyssey
02. Miscreants
03. Requiem For The Absurd
04. The Antidote
05. Ego
06. The Sentient
07. The Final Step
08. Humanity’s Epilogue
09. The Red Planet


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.