Sun Eater, Job For A Cowboy’s fourth full-length recording, boasts a more melodic sound than their previous release, Demonocracy; the instrumental layering on Sun Eater makes for an incredibly heavy-hitting album, with the perfect amount of aggressive vocals on top.

Each song on Sun Eater showcases how Job For A Cowboy remains a relevant group, one with incredible talent oozing out of every orifice. With intense melodic riffs and heavy shredding from beginning to end, Al Glassman and Tony Sannicandro absolutely rip on guitar. Nick Schendzielos’ bass adds to the mood of each track while session drummer, Danny Walker, puts the pedal to the death metal (ugh, worst joke ever… I’m so sorry, but it had to be said… and I’m definitely the first person to ever say that, right? RIGHT?). Last but not least are Jonny Davy’s vocals, which, though they’ve changed over the years (Sun Eater doesn’t feature any of the old pig squeals), remain as powerful as ever – and somehow make my own throat hurt.

Warning: Sun Eater is not for the faint of heart. Job For A Cowboy’s newest aural addition is definitely a game changer for the band; dipping back into their earlier death metal roots was definitely a solid choice, and they certainly do death metal well! Side effects of listening to Sun Eater may include madness, murder, and a sudden and strong desire to press repeat, repeat, repeat.

Track Listing:

01. Eating the Visions of God
02. Sun of Nihility
03. The Stone Cross
04. The Synthetic Sea
05. A Global Shift
06. The Celestial Antidote
07. Encircled by Mirrors
08. Buried Monuments
09. Worming Nightfall

Run Time: 46:45
Release Date: November 11, 2014

Check out the song “Encircled by Mirrors”