Long before the scene was convoluted with a million different sub-genres and obligatory breakdowns around every corner, there was Heavy Metal; a catchall moniker for fast, rebellions, and energetic music that was designed for nothing but a good time!

Storm of Blades, the fifth release from the Swedish act Bullet, is heavy metal in its purest form, a nostalgic throwback to those glorious days of excess and fun. Once you get you get through the opening intro, “Uprising,” the disc kicks into overdrive with the title track, “Storm of Blades,” and does not let up until the very end; it’s all killer, with no filler!

The guitar riffs are huge and uncomplicated, while the bass and drums keep the adrenaline going at pure headbanging speed. Old school metal would not be complete without dueling guitar leads in virtually every song and Storm of Blades is no exception with a bad-ass arsenal of blazing, yet tasteful leads that burn up the fret board. Vocalist Hell Hofer is about as over-the-top as you can get and is perfect for this record! His voice is a crazy bastardized hybrid of UDO (Accept), Halford (Judas Priest) and Cam Pipes (3 inches Of Blood), but it works unbelievably well.

Thankfully, unlike a lot of records that came out during the heavy metal heyday, you can put your lighter away because Storm of Blades contains no ballads at all; from start to finish, it is fast and furious.

Track Listing:

01. Uprising
02. Storm Of Blades
03. Riding High
04. Tornado
05. Hawk Eyes
06. This One’s For You
07. Hammer Down
08. It’s On
09. Crossfire
10. Run With The Hunted
11. Coming In Loud

Run Time: 38:12
Release Date: September 9, 2014

Check out the song “Storm of Blades”