I was turned on to Cripper back in 2011 when I saw them perform on-board the 70000 Tons of Metal cruise. The band’s sheer power and stage presence was enough to compel me to investigate them further, and upon my arrival home, I became a fan. This is a group that knows how to consistently deliver bone-crushing, tech savvy tunes that will melt your face and are sure to ignite more than a few pits.

Hyëna is the bands fourth full-length effort and the first on powerhouse metal label, Metal Blade Records. From the very first notes of title track “Hyëna” to the last note of “Pure,” this album kicks asses and takes names. Vocalist Britta Görtz has a set of razor sharp vocal chords that rip and shred so hard your ears will bleed; it is inconceivable that such an ungodly growl can come from such a petite frame.

Musically, as I mentioned, these guys seriously shred, but in a tasteful way that enhances the songs; at no point does it feel like an ego-boosting exercise of fretboard acrobatics. The eleven neck snapping songs gallop along at breakneck speed shifting gears without notice and changing up the tempos on a regular basis. I am familiar with all of the band’s previous releases and can tell you that this is the best effort of their career. Hyëna is about as solid a metal record as you can and get should not be missed.

Track Listing:

01. Hyena
02. Tourniquet
03. Bloodshot Monkey Eye
04. A Dime For The Establishment
05. 7″
06. Animated Flesh
07. The Origin
08. Patterns In The Sky
09. The Jackhammer
10. Patronized
11. Pure

Run Time: 51:10
Release Date: November 25, 2014

Check out the song “Hyena”