Belgium’s Enthroned have always been a bit of an underdog in the black metal scene. While the band have always had a decent following, they’ve never really broken through to “top tier” status. Part of the reason is that (at least to me) the group have never really been able to consistently deliver high quality albums. Sure, they’ve always had decent recordings, but never did they have a release that could truly be called solid until 2012’s Obsidium came along.

Now with Sovereigns, Enthroned proves that Obsidium was not a fluke. While the band still play aggressive black metal, the songs on this album also contain slower parts. This results in tracks that, while still maintaining a distinctly black metal sound, have a bit more hooks to them.

While Sovereigns doesn’t showcase anything particularly new for the genre, it remains a good listen.

Track Listing:

01. Anteloquium
02. Sine Qua Non
03. Of Feathers and Flames
04. Lamp of Invisible Lights
05. Of Shrines and Sovereigns
06. The Edge of Agony
07. Divine Coagulation
08. Baal al-Maut
09. Nerxiarxin Mahathallah

Run Time: 40:23
Release Date: April 15, 2014

Check out the song “Of Feathers And Flames”