The Skinny: Today, Australian black metal cult Pestilential Shadows are premiering the new track “Fragments” via SoundCloud. The song hails from their highly anticipated new album, Ephemeral, set for international release on October 31st via Seance Records. One of Australian black metal’s longest-running and most revered forces in the underground, Ephemeral retains Pestilential Shadows’ signature poetic heaviness and melody but twists the dagger deeper into the soul.

Ephemeral is gritty and raw, driven by heart-wrenching emotion and fathomless despair. It quickens the blood with bitter poison and, like its namesake, reminds us that life is fleeting – merely a transitory state between birth, death, and nothingness. So, as surely as the scythe falls indiscriminately on young and old, rich and poor, know that death touches us all.

Ephemeral Track Listing:

01. Throes
02. Mill of Discord
03. Fragments
04. Sorrow of Tongues
05. Hymn of Isolation & Suicide
06. Emphemeral
07. Expire


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.