The Skinny: Italy’s experimental progressors Nero Di Marte’s upcoming sophomore effort Derivae pushes the quartet towards a post-metal sound with its crushing atmospheres and cinematic flairs. The band has now unveiled the title track to Derivae, which the band spent three years perfecting.

Returning once again to Studio73 with Riccardo “Rico” Passini (Ephel Duath, Void of Sleep), Nero Di Marte recorded the new album completely with analog and declined the use of any post-processing effects to further expand the dynamics in their playing. Described by the band as “claustrophobic, hypnotic, dark and maybe sometimes overwhelming and tragic,” the seven-track opus thematically encompasses the feeling of being lost and letting yourself become led by the unknown.

Derivae Track Listing:

01. L’Eclisse
02. Clouded Allure
03. Pulsar
04. Dite
05. Simulacra
06. Il Diluvio
07. Those Who Leave