There isn’t much information on Los Angeles outfit decoded. Their biog reveals that they incorporate elements of blues and grunge within their sound and have built up a reputation as a captivating live outfit but, other than those little snippets, information on the Los Angeles three-piece is a little scarce.

Having said that, the reviews I’ve read so far of the band up to and including this, their current EP, Topanga, have all been favourable and one listen to the fuzzy waves of garage rock that pour out of my headphones, it’s easy to see why. Coming across like one big jam session, the fuzzed-up guitar sound at times reminds you of bands like Queens of The Stone Age with a bit of Nirvana thrown in for good measure. Hypnotically infectious, the six tracks on offer are so easy to listen to that you’ll soon find yourself nodding along to the droning tones of songs like “Red Handed”. Raw and unpolished, it doesn’t take long before you’ll find yourself hooked into decoded and their sound.

When describing their sound as “organic,” it’s hard to disagree with the Los Angeles three-piece. Raw, untouched by expensive studio hands, Topanga does sound like decoded have more of a “bang it out in a couple of takes” ethic which leaves you holding in your hands a collection of songs that come across as, well, nice and honest.

Track Listing:

01. Topanga
02. Last Night
03. Red Handed
04. Judgement Day
05. I Can’t Control It
06. Not Easy Being Alone

Run Time: 21:36
Release Date: November 12, 2013

Check out the song “Topanga”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.