The Skinny: We are delighted to be premiering the new song, “Recoil,” from the impressively talented, hard-hitting Fairmont, West Virginia metal quintet Cognition, who on October 21st will be independently releasing their debut self-titled, nine-track album.

Working with producer Jeff Westlake (Hydrogyn, Tracy G and Craig Goldy of Dio, The Godz) was an invaluable and unforgettable experience for Cognition as a developing band. The members absorbed everything they could during the process and learned about what it is like to be in a studio and making an album.

“It wasn’t like we sat down and said, ‘We’re going to write this album this month and record it,'” says drummer and founding member – Evan Michael. “Some songs were written three or four years ago and some were written just about a year ago.” Because of that, the album is a broad representation of the band, as well as a hint of what’s to come.

Cognition Track Listing:

01. The March
02. Countdown
03. Recoil
04. Words of Insanity
05. Rightful Designation
06. Attila The Gun
07. State of the Art
08. Plethora
09. Equanimity

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.