I have been eagerly anticipating this record for the majority of the year and was more than stoked when it arrived in my inbox. Like most of you out there, I had already heard the advance single “The Swarm”; I was excited about the heavier, more aggressive direction Unearth had presumably taken.

I was not at all disappointed! For almost 40 minutes the fast, frenzied, and furious assault gloriously pummeled my senses and left me aching for more. Watchers Of Rule is straight up aural aggression that, in my opinion, is heavier than anything the band has ever done before. While there remain some sporadic, melodic undertones running throughout these songs, it is nowhere near as melodic as previous releases The March or Darkness In The Light.

With all of that being said, I went back and listened to this album in its entirety a third time and can assure you that as heavy as it gets, the band does not back off on the technicality of their music in the slightest; massive breakdowns, breakneck machine gun drumming, and intricate leads that are the perfect canvas for vocalist Trevor Phipps to spew his venom all remain.

If you have not already guessed it, I totally dig this album. I am certain it is going to end up on my end of the year top ten list. Bravo boys, this one is a grand slam!

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. The Swarm
03. Lifetime In Ruins
04. Guards Of Contagion
05. For The Tombs Of Five Below
06. Never Cease
07. Trail To Fire
08. To The Ground
09. Burial Lines
10. Birth Of a Legion
11. Watchers Rule

Run Time: 42:44
Release Date: October 28, 2014

Check out the song “The Swarm”