The Skinny: Seattle’s metal legends, Sanctuary, have premiered the first single from their upcoming album, The Year The Sun Died, today via YouTube. To hear “Arise and Purify” – the first new material from the band in 25 years – head below!

Due out October 6 in Europe and October 14 in North America via Century Media Records, The Year The Sun Died is the long-awaited follow-up to Sanctuary’s first two studio albums that were released on Epic Records: Refuge Denied (1987) and Into the Mirror Black (1989). Singer Warrel Dane’s sky-high vocals combined with guitarist Lenny Rutledge’s more mature take on classic thrash riffs separated the band from the throes of metal acts struggling to get noticed at the time. With The Year The Sun Died, Sanctuary continues that legacy that they started decades ago, delivering yet another fresh take on “classic-sounding” metal. Featuring artwork by Travis Smith (Opeth, Nevermore) and mixed/produced by Zeuss (Rob Zombie, Suicide Silence, Crowbar), this upcoming album promises to be worth the wait.

The Year The Sun Died Track Listing:

01. Arise and Purify
02. Let The Serpent Follow Me
03. Exitium (Anthem of the Living)
04. Question Existence Fading
05. I Am Low
06. Frozen
07. One Final Day (Sworn to Believe)
08. The World is Wired
09. The Dying Age
10. Ad Vitam Aeternam
11. The Year the Sun Died
Bonus: “Waiting for the Sun” (The Doors cover; included on the mediabook, plus CD insert inside the LP)

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.