This new, self-titled release from the Canadian rock quartet These Raven Skies is a pretty solid hard rock album with tons of driving, captivating grooves. Their sound is not typical of most of their contemporaries, and while it’s a little difficult to describe, it has a definite bluesy vibe and acoustic flair that in no way limits the boys to a certain sound.

These Raven Skies has some good singalong choruses (“Come Sit Next To Me”), plenty of fuzzy guitar riffs (“Truth Be Told)”, and tons of gritty swagger (“No Need to Worry” featuring Jeff Martin). Sure, this release does not reinvent the wheel by any means, but it is definitely a good listen and would be the perfect soundtrack for a night out drinking with the boys. If you, like me, enjoy good hard rock with a twist, then you’re more than likely going to dig what the guys in The Raven Skies have done.

Track Listing:

01. Magick Waters
02. No Need To Worry (feat. Jeff Martin)
03. The Garden (feat. Jeff Martin)
04. Are We Having Fun (feat. Jeff Martin)
05. Come Sit Next To Me
06. Emily and Alick
07. Open Road
08. Truth Be Told
09. The Hooker

Run Time: 35:50
Release Date: July 29, 2014

Check out the song “No Need To Worry” (feat. Jeff Martin)