The Skinny: BLXPLTN (Blaxploitation) is overtaking the scene with their twisted shrieks, power beats, and devil-may-care attitude. Landing on the Afropunk and Red Bull Sound Select lineups, playing at SXSW’s 2014 official showcase, rocking alongside The Mars Volta’s Ikey Owens, and opening for …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, BLXPLTN has become one of the quickest up-and-comers in their hometown of Austin, TX.

The power trio of TaSzlin Muerte (electro drums, vocals), Javelin Horstmann (bass, synth, vocals) and Lil K Big Q (guitar, screams) are combining the energy and spirit of anarcho-punk, industrial and hip-hop into a progressive sound steeped in a desire for social justice. From TaSzlin’s aggressive beats played on e-drums to Javelin’s driving synths and bass to Lil K Big Q’s ferocious growls, the band takes the electronic influences from Light Asylum, Joy Division and Future Islands and toughens them up with the grime, gore and edge of ’80s American hardcore.

The band is currently completing their first full-length studio album, Black Cop Down, recording and mixing tracks with the musical masterminds of Ikey Owens, Autry Fulbright (…And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead), and Elliott Frazier (Ringo Deathstarr). BLXPLTN is set to slay the music world with their debut album this October.

Black Cop Down Track Listing:

01. Train (Get Out)
02. Pressure
03. Start Fires
04. Betta Run
05. Stop & Frisk
06. Write
07. Time Out
08. Blah
09. Lick Me


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.