I was turned on to Allegaeon a few years ago and I immediately became a huge fan of their super-technical, melodic death metal assault. I have been looking forward to getting my hands on Elements of the Infinite and was quite excited to sit down and give this one a listen.

“Threshold Perception” kicks things off in a big way and it is clear from the very beginning that this is going to be a brutally epic record. Speedy riffs pummel the listener upside the head while the melodic guitar assault propels him forward and further into the disc. As mentioned earlier, this a very technical band, and with that said, some of the guitar work and rhythm changes on this record are jaw-droppingly stunning; a good example of this can be found in the tune “1.618.”

To me though, the thing that will keep me coming back to Elements of the Infinite over and over again, is the atmosphere; the sheer power, precision and immediacy is phenomenal. The melodic guitar work contrasted with the death metal growls creates a vibe that is chaotic and brutal, yet extremely enjoyable to listen to.

Lastly I can’t say enough about the monstrous, crystal clear production that, to me, is the icing on the proverbial cake. This is a terrific death metal album and I have a feeling it is going to make an appearance on many “best metal albums of 2014” lists.

Track Listing:

01. Threshold Perception
02. Tyrants of the Terrestrial Exodus
03. Dyson Sphere
04. The Phylogenesis Streth
05. 1.618
06. Gravimetric Time Dilation
07. Our Cosmic Casket
08. Biomech II
09. Through Ages Of Ice- Otzi’s Curse
10. Genocide For Praise-Vals for The Vitruvian Man

Run Time: 58:06
Release Date: June 24, 2014

Check out the song “Our Cosmic Casket”