Blood for Blood, Hellyeah’s fourth studio album, is a surprisingly heavy, aggressive slab of metal that, quite honestly, caught me off guard. I have always been a fan of the band but a few months back, when they announced the departure of both guitarist Greg Tribbett and bassist Bob Zilla, I was not sure if they would be able to maintain their classic sound.

The first few measures of the opening track “Sangre por Sangre (Blood For Blood)” quickly nullified all of my concerns. This is by far the heaviest, punchiest, most aggressive Hellyeah record to date. Perhaps the band has been rejuvenated by the addition of Bloodsimple bassist Kyle Sanders, I am not sure, but whatever the case this is easily some of their best work yet.

Hellyeah is in top form cranking out fantastic, driving, edgy riffs that get the blood flowing and the head banging in no time at all; not to mention Chad Gray’s vocals are as commanding and pissed off as ever, especially in songs like “Demons In The Dirt” and “Cross To Bier (Cradle Of Bones).”

Fans of the band are going to totally dig Blood For Blood and those not yet familiar with Hellyeah would do well to pick this one up, it is freaking solid!

Track Listing:

01. Sangre por Sangre (Blood For Blood)
02. Demons In The Dirt
03. Soul Killer
04. Moth
05. Cross To Bier (Cradle Of Bones)
06. DMF
07. Gift
08. Hush
09. Say When
10. Black December

Run Time: 39:25
Release Date: June 10, 2014

Check out the song “Sangre por Sangre (Blood For Blood)”