Black Light, the new EP from Texas-based band Waterparks, is pop punk done right! I am not the biggest fan of the genre, but I think that when done correctly, like it is here, it can be a fun and enjoyable distraction from the world around you. I also think that this is the perfect time of year to release Black Light; it will definitely make for many folks’ soundtrack to a wonderful Summer’s evening get together with friends accompanied by their favorite adult beverage.

While there are no real surprises here, and Waterparks do not attempt to reinvent the wheel, I feel they have refined and polished their sound enough to make it stand out in the popular, but highly crowded genre. Awsten Knight’s strong lead vocals are unique and the catchy, upbeat melodies, high energy mid-tempo rhythm section, and stellar production make this CD one of the exceptions in my book. If you are in any way a fan of the pop punk genre, then this is going to be right up your alley.

Track Listing:

01. Christmas feat. Tyler Welsh (Driver Friendly)
02. American History
03. Easter Egg
04. New Wave
05. Night Maps Feat. Fred Mascherino (Taking Back Sunday)
06. I’m A Natural Blue

Run Time: 20:50
Release Date: June 5, 2014

Check out the song “New Wave”