I’m terrible with names, and for the longest time I would confuse the names “Miss May I” and “Memphis May Fire.” I’m not proud of it, but I do find that kind of humorous now that I’m able to make a distinction. Oh, Nelly.

The thrash is still strong with this one. There are fewer breakdown rhythms and more pedal tone riffs, which struck me as a return to earlier metalcore. “Saints, Sinners, and Greats” has a pretty nostalgic breakdown. It’s very 2009, but in a good way. There are a hefty, healthy, wholesome, handsome human heifer amount of kick-snare kick-snare kick-snare kick-snare kick-kick-snare rhythms, so for more than half of this album I felt like I was riding a horse. By the time I got cover to cover, I was chaffing at the thighs and very, very thirsty, as was my steed.

Step into my life for a moment: whilst writing this review, I have the album playing from my iTunes library on my laptop. The song “Tangled Tongues” is playing, but someone on Facebook posted a song, which I must have clicked on because it started playing. That song is “Robbers” by The 1975. Guess what? These two songs mash fairly well. Does this mean that Miss May I has sold out?!… Of course not. That actually doesn’t even make any sense. In retrospect this portion of the review would have been fine without that last sentence, but I kept typing before even considering deleting it. I think this is called “inertia.”

My favorite blast beat on this album is in “Tangled Tongues.” It’s real classy. You’ll air drum this one. I guarantee it. While the songwriting/riff writing on this album as a whole is pretty solid, the clean vocals tend to sound like declarations. The rhythms of the notes are choppy like military rhythms, and the last note of a phrase is often held, reminding me of a lot of folk metal. There’s nothing wrong with folk metal, but it does sound somewhat dated, not to mention that the scene tends towards higher register clean vocals. I think some people will dig, some people won’t. I personally like my vocals to sound like a cat whose balls got caught in a mouse trap. But, then again, that’s just me, and I’m selfish.

Track Listing:

01. Refuse To Believe
02. Lunatik
03. Gone
04. Echoes
05. You Want Me
06. Tangled Tongues
07. Hero With No Name
08. Darker Days
09. End Of Me
10. Saints, Sinners, and Greats

Run Time: 37:03
Release Date: April 29, 2014

Check out the song “Refuse To Believe”