The Skinny: Norwegian black metal band KAMPFAR have premiered “En Hymne Til Urd” (“A Hymn for Earth”) – stream the track via the SoundCloud player above. “En Hymne Til Urd” is the band’s contribution to the forthcoming One And All, Together, For Home compilation.

Regarding the new track, KAMPFAR commented: “Former guitarist Thomas Andreassen shaped KAMPFAR’s sound by taking his piano roots and translating them to the guitar. The song ‘Hymne’, which appeared on the only demo the band recorded, is perhaps the clearest example of his connection between classical music, old Norwegian folk music and black metal. The lyrics on the song were lifted from the Norse poem ‘Voluspå’. In this reinterpretation of the song the band revisits several of the melodies from the original song while also bringing back pieces of the ‘Voluspå’ poem. Vocals by Ask Ty.”

One And All, Together, For Home was assembled by DRUDKH main-man Roman Sayenko, and brings together a group of renowned European metal bands to pay homage their distinct, unique heritages. Each band employs their own means to find and present their respective cultural roots to the world via song. The eight appearing artists contribute a total of 17 tracks in the form of traditional song interpretations, cover versions of folk artists, or the use of themes and melodies from their musical heritages in original compositions. The tracks found in One And All, Together, For Home are available exclusively on this compilation.

One And All, Together, For Home Track Listing:

01. PRIMORDIAL (Ireland) – “Dark horse on the wind”
02. DRUDKH (Ukraine) – “Forgotten Lullaby”
03. HAIVE (Finland) – “Ei Kuule Emo Minua” *
04. KAMPFAR (Norway) – “En Hymne Til Urd”
05. WINTERFYLLETH (England) – “Abbots Brommley Horn Dance”
06. WINTERFYLLETH (England) – “John Barleycorn”
07. MONDOVOLLAND (Netherlands) – “Montferland I” (with Folkcorn)
08. MONDOVOLLAND (Netherlands) – “Montferland II”
09. HIMINBJORG (France) – “Esprit De Brave”

CD 2:
10. WINTERFYLLETH – (England) – The Three Ravens
11. KAMPFAR (Norway) – Bannsull
12. DRUDKH (Ukraine) – Dovbush
13. MONDOVOLLAND (Netherlands) – Montferland III
14. AVA INFERI (Portugal) – Ao Teu Lado
15. HAIVE (Finland) – Ukon On Tulinen Turkki
16. HAIVE (Finland) – Onpa Tietty Tietyssäni
17. PRIMORDIAL (Ireland) – The Foggy Dew


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.