Download Now

Together, Jeff Moore (guitar, vocals), John Watterberg (bass) and Jaye Moore (drums) comprise the Brooklyn, NY-based rock group Dead Stars. The band, who are now gearing up to release their new LP, Slumber, on June 17th via Old Flame Records, play a fun mix of indie, alternative, grunge, fuzz, shoegaze, and even pop that results in their unavoidable sound. In true PureGrain fashion we’re sharing with you this free download of the new song “Someone Else” ahead of the album’s release.

Slumber is the follow-up to the band’s EP High Gain which dropped last Summer and offers much more in the crunchy guitars and catchy hook department. Reminiscent of the ’90s dirty rock movement, the music on Slumber will easily draw comparisons to bands the likes of Dinosaur Jr., Sonic Youth, Pavement and Teenage Fanclub. Summer is around the corner and thankfully so is this fun, upbeat album.


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.