The Skinny: Virginia Beach-based post-melodic hardcore band, The North, have premiered their new single “Tradewinds” online. The Chris Baldwin (The Process Recording) produced track is off the band’s upcoming debut EP, Tradewinds, due out March 27, 2014. Check it out above!

When asked about the inspiration behind the song “The North” explained: “Because of every mistake we made, I’m now the man you see today’ can sum up the single and title-track Tradewinds. The song takes you through the emotional roller coaster of betrayal, hatred, sorrow and the ability to move forward in the end with the support of those around you. It’s about accepting all the mistakes made in one relationship so you can move forward in another. The theme is justification, acceptance and forward progression.”

Tradewinds Track Listing:

01. Always Have A Backup Plan
02. Tradewinds
03. 806 to Skowhegan
04. Highway Lines
05. My Holiday
06. Upon Waking Up (ft. Jerry Roush of Glass Cloud)
07. Lost


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.