Download Now

New York City’s NØMADS is gearing up for the release of their debut album on April 8 via Mecca Lecca, and is now sharing “Free My Animal,” the title track (and second taste) from the album. The track is available to download free via the link just above. NØMADS is maximum sound two-piece bass and drum collaboration featuring Nathan Lithgow (bassist for My Brightest Diamond, Inlets, and Gabriel & the Hounds), and drummer Garth Macaleavey (former Inlets touring percussionist, and sound engineer for the Philip Glass Ensemble).

The band previously released their first single “In The Mend,” which the UK site The Sound of Confusion described as “cutting, but with just the right amount of melody.” NØMADS leans towards the razor-efficient songwriting forms of 90’s bands like Nirvana, Fugazi, and Girls Against Boys, while updating the style and stripping the approach to its essential foundations of lyricism and sonic intensity. The band has honed their own primal sound that capitalizes on conspicuous juxtapositions – minimal instrumentation against maximum sound; aggression against beauty; soft melody versus an aggression of expression.

Free My Animal Track Listing:

01. In The Mend
02. Free My Animal
03. The Cosmos
04. Summer of Open Wide
05. Blood In The Water
06. Disguises
07. Down In Out
08. Lemming/King


Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.