The Search Goes On, the latest release from the Swedish hard rock trio Kamchatka, is one hell of an album. After listening to the first few bars of the disc’s opener, “Somedays,” I felt as if I had been transported about 40 years back in time.

The whole album has a hard rocking ’70s era vibe that I found both incredibly cool and retro. It was very nostalgic for me for sure, but putting that aside for the moment, the bluesy riff-driven grooves and pounding rhythms herein are quite hypnotizing. I think the best way to describe this disc is “unpretentious whiskey-soaked rock and roll with no bells and whistles”. I think The Search Goes On would make the perfect soundtrack to a night of carousing and drinking with the boys.

My favorite track without a doubt is the blues-soaked “Dragons,” which opens with a killer riff and over the course of 5 minutes goes through numerous tempo changes and contains an absolutely phenomenal, emotionally-charged guitar solo that, for me, was the highlight of the disc. If you like your hard rock with swagger along the lines of Clutch, then Kamchatka is for you.

Track Listing:

01. Somedays
02. Tango Decadence
03. Coast To Coast
04. Son Of The Sea
05. Broken Man
06. Pressure
07. Cross The Distance
08. Thank You For Your Time
09. Dragons
10. The Search Goes On

Run Time: 41:37
Release Date: February 19, 2014

Check out the song “Tango Decadence”