I had never really taken the time to listen to For Today, until recently, when suddenly posts about “homophobic” remarks made by someone affiliated with the band commandeered my Facebook timeline. Being the curious Internet user that I am, I reacted swiftly by finding YouTube clips of For Today’s performances, solidifying my belief that there is no such thing as bad press. I thoroughly enjoyed their artistic expression in the form of high gain guitars and growls, so when the opportunity presented itself to review slash listen to their new album, Fight The Silence, I leaped at the chance, and they did not disappoint.

Razor & Tie consistently puts out music from great bands, and this release is no different. Ridden with syncopated, staccato guitar rhythms, this album is ideal for strength, treadmill routines or your least favorite muscle group lift in the gym. Having listened to this album at least 5 times cover to cover, if mp3s could have covers, I found myself often on the squat rack, lacking that little something to motivate me to push from the down position to the standing position. Asking my spotter to play “Molotov,” I regained my composure and exploded through my set, yes… much like the Hulk.

I rarely am moved by lyrics, but I must say, the uplifting themes spark a little fire inside that you may or may not have known existed. I’m not typically into super evangelical phrases, but the line, “The answer is Him,” in “Reflections” almost made me cry the first time I heard it… and the second time, and the third time. This song also speaks to For Today’s ability to right clean, melodic tunage that segues magnificently to a head banger jam. Only negative criticism I have for this album is that there are a bit more breakdown riffs than I would like, given the current metalcore/post-hardcore scene. I would hope to see that the genre as a whole makes it’s way to more complicated riffs and song structures, but For Today totz makes up for it with some legit, shreddy harmonized leadages. I like. Izzz niiice.

Track Listing:

01. Molotov
02. Fight The Silence
03. Pariah
04. Reflections
05. Break The Cycle
06. A Call To Arms
07. For The Fallen
08. Fatherless
09. Dead To Rights
10. One Voice
11. Resonate
12. Hated By The World

Run Time: 45:13
Release Date: February 4, 2014

Check out the song “Fight The Silence”