When I saw the words pop-punk my heart sank. Was this going to be more of the same old Green Day, Blink 182-lite bubblegum rock or will self-confessed party rockers Pkew Pkew Pkew offer something different to the scene?

Well, I should be thankful that the half an hour or so in the company of this album wasn’t just spent listening to that regurgitated pop pap that passes off as punk rock these days but, at the end of the day, Glory Days still suffered from the same problem that most punk records suffer from in that, after about three or four songs, it all started to get a bit samey. Sure, you could level that accusation at most scenes these days so this shouldn’t be a surprise but, still, if you’re just a passing pop-punk fan, you may find even thirty minutes of Pkew Pkew Pkew (gunshots) a bit of a struggle. On the other hand, if you’re into drunken, singalong anthems like “Asshole Pandemic” and “Glory Days” then their rough, rowdy, five vocal racket should sit nicely in your collection alongside those bands who still have one Doc Martened boot planted firmly in the old school punk rock scene.

With these Canadian punks it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out that they’re all about the beer and the partyin’. On that score then, they’ve written a right raucous soundtrack to accompany it.

Track Listing:

01. We’re Gonna Do It Anyway
02. Stop Calling Us, Chief
03. Asshole Pandemic
04. All We See Is Grey
05. Glory Days
06. Wendy
07. Road To Victory
08. Mon ChCri Marie
09. Friends Don’t Let Friends Move In With Girlfriends (Pt 1&2)
10. PkewX3 Anthem (Ryde Or Die)

Run Time: 32:50
Release Date: November 12, 2013

Check out the album ‘Glory Days’

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.