A screech of feedback kicks the new EP from Canadian djent mob Skynet into life before that familiar crystal clear, polished guitar sound synonymous with the djent scene rears its head and things start to head down a well-trodden path.

Despite the familiarity which greets you with each passing moment of this seven track EP, there is something about Skynet, and tracks like “A Coin On Each Eye”, that is hard to dislike. The use of atmospherics and samples provides an ample break up to the stop-start juddering riffs utilised by the Canadian band throughout the EP while the polished, crisp production job afforded to the recording makes each track something of a pleasure to listen to. Laced with dreamy melodies throughout the course of the EP, even when the band plunge into more heavier waters as they do on the likes of “Bottleneck”, the slow, grooving chug is utterly hypnotic.

While another band to add to the djent scene could just be too much for some people to cope with, it has to be said that there are many things to like about Skynet and The Wild so, for now, don’t worry too much about the rest of the scene, concentrate on the quality stuff like this.

Run Time: 28:17
Release Date: November 19, 2013

Track Listing:

01. A Coin On Each Eye
02. Devour
03. Heartburn
04. J.R.M.
05. To The Hounds
06. Bottleneck
07. The Wild

Check out the song “To The Hounds”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.