The Eternal Light Of The Unconscious Mind is the sophomore effort from the Andorran progressive metal band Nami. I was not familiar with the group when I sat back to listen to this new release and as such was not sure what to expect. What I found though was a lush, crunchy metal record that meanders between classic rock, death metal, and prog blurring the line between the genres as it so does.

At times it is blisteringly heavy with growling death metal vocals (“Hunter’s Dormancy”) while at others it is serene, atmospheric and melodic (“Crimson Sky”). All of these qualities come together in what I would call the disc’s, magnum opus, “The Dream Eater.” Clocking in at more than nine minutes in length, this bad boy has it all including some absolutely stellar guitar shredding and a surprising saxophone part that caught me off guard, yet works extremely well.

The band’s creativity on this record kept me guessing what was next to come; it is impossible to know if you are going to get crushed by a brutally distorted riff or accosted by a random saxophone line, which for me, made the whole experience exciting. Too many bands try to fit in with the crowd, Nami does not and for that I applaud them!

Track Listing:

01. The Beholders
02. Ariadna
03. Silent Mouth
04. Hunter’s Dormancy
05. The Animal And The Golden Throne
06. Bless Of Faintness
07. Hope In Faintness
08. Crimson Sky
09. The Dream Eater

Run Time: 51:53
Release Date: November 4, 2013

Check out the song “Silent Mouth”