What We Signed Up For is the newest release from the Toronto-based pop punk act July. After a mostly unnecessary 30 second intro, the band launches into some of the best pop-punk I have heard in a while; the opening song making it clear that this is going to be a solid, riotous half hour of quality music.

This disc is jammed with memorable chorus lines layered over galloping palm-muted guitars capped of by Devin Moody’s soaring, nasally vocals – this is music I would expect to hear gracing the stages of The Vans Warped tour every Summer. The album’s overall vibe kind of reminded me of bands like Pierce The Veil, All Time Low, or maybe even the genre masters, New Found Glory. Highlights for me include the heavier “West Coast Pimpin” and the super punk-influenced “Secret Is A Sleazy Word.”

While not overly creative, at the end of the day What We Signed Up For is fun, energetic and perfect for cranking real loud while singing along at the top of your lungs. I think fans of the pop punk genre will be more than pleased with What We Signed Up For.

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. What We Signed Up For
03. West Coast Pimpin’
04. Right Here For You
05. Secret Is a Sleazy Word
06. Dance, Shuffle, Move Your Feet
07. Counting Ducks
08. Eight Nine Eight
09. Second Best
10. To All The Kids
11. Collapse

Run Time: 27:28
Release Date: November 12, 2013

Check out the song “What We Signed Up For”