The Way Life Goes is the much-anticipated solo release from Cinderella frontman Tom Keifer. After serious vocal problems that almost sidelined his career the man with one of the most recognisable voices in hard rock is back with one hell of a record. I had been hearing about this release for a long time and was a bit concerned that it might not live up to all the hype, but the opening notes of “Solid Ground” squelched those thoughts in their tracks and laid the foundation for what is a fantastic record.

The Way Life Goes does not stray too far from what I was expecting with the tracks on this disc alternating between mid-tempo bluesy rockers and slower acoustic, piano-laced ballads, many of which are similar to his work in Cinderella. It is not a rehashing of old stuff, though; The Way Life Goes definitely stands on it’s on. I have been a fan of his since the mid-eighties and I can tell you despite all of his past vocal problems, I think Keifer has herein turned in one of the best performances of his career.

Cinderella fans like me will totally dig this record, but I think it also has a much broader appeal and fans of bluesy rock will enjoy it as well. Welcome back, Tom!

The Way Life Goes Track Listing:

01. Solid Ground
02. A Different Light
03. It’s Not Enough
04. Cold Day In Hell
05. Thick And Thin
06. Ask Me Yesterday
07. Fools Paradise
08. The Flower Song
09. Mood Elevator
10. Welcome To My Mind
11. You Showed Me
12. Ain’t That A Bitch
13. The Way Life Goes
14. Babylon

Run Time: 51:36
Release Date: April 26, 2013

Check out the song “Solid Ground”