It’s very easy to lump Los Angeles alt-metallers Gemini Syndrome in with that whole Disturbed/Five Finger Death Punch crowd and write them off even before you’ve digested the initial angsty minutes of their new album, Lux. However, with a major label deal signed and a tour with U.S. metallers Five Finger Death Punch in the not too distant future, it’s clear that somebody somewhere is planning big things for the Los Angeles outfit.

So, do Gemini Syndrome have what it takes to join the elite of arena-filling American rock acts? Well, there is no doubting they write some memorable songs – Lux is full of them. On the other hand, Lux is by no means a game-changer. What it is however, is forty-odd minutes of solid, angsty, modern American metal. Straight away I can imagine a lot of you are heading for the exit sign at the thought of that and, yes, at times, names like Staind and Disturbed and even Incubus spring into mind.

Let me clear one thing up though, while I’ve already said Lux isn’t a game changer, it throws up songs like “Stardust” and “Falling Apart” which have that perfect balance of edgy alt-metal and mainstream rock radio required hooks. If you’re looking for something a bit more gutsy though there are fist-in-the-air anthems like “Left Of Me” and “Pay For This” to keep you satisfied. Add in a dash of Spineshank-style electronica and, coupled with the personal lyrics of frontman Aaron Nordstrom and you have a collection of songs that hit hard then reel you in hook, line and sinker with those big American-style anthemic choruses.

From reading press write-ups it seems like Gemini Syndrome are doing everything they can to make their mark, including regularly landing slots on any and every show, tour, and festival they can. Sure, it’s early days for the Los Angeles outfit but, given the fact that Lux shows a band with a lot of promise, if you’re a fan of the angst-rockers then expect to be hearing a lot more from them in the future!

Track Listing:

01. Pleasure And Pain
02. Basement
03. Falling Apart
04. Resurrection
05. Stardust
06. Mourning Star
07. Left Of Me
08. Pay For This
09. Take This
10. Babylon
11. Syndrome
12. Lux

Run Time: 43:59
Release Date: September 10, 2013

Check out the song “Basement”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.