It is with great pleasure that I welcome Jason Newsted back into the metal fold. With the release of, Heavy Metal Music, Jason (and his band simply called Newsted) once again proves the man is a force to be reckoned with. The simple, generic catch-all title is about as accurate as you can get as this disc covers a ton of ground under the heavy metal umbrella.

There are a couple fast tunes and a few slower, doomier ones on here, but the meat and potatoes of Heavy Metal Music consists of straightforward, mid-tempo metal with riffs that are both heavy and boast an overall production that is gritty and in-your-face. I am not used to seeing Jason doing double duty playing bass and singing, but his rough, raw vocals are perfectly suited for his music.

Heavy Metal Music is a bit of a departure from his previous body of work and actually sounds little like his former bands; it is just straightforward, unpretentious, no frills head banging fare that is sure to please metal fans all over! This just dropped and should already be part of your digital or physical collection!

Track Listing:

01. Heroic Dose
02. Soldierhead
03. As The Crow Flies
04. Ampossible
05. Long Time Dead
06. Above All
07. King Of The Underdogs
08. Nocturnus
09. Twisted Tale Of The Comet
10. Kindevillusion
11. Futureality

Run Time: 56:59
Release Date: August 6, 2013

Check out the song “Above All”