The Skinny: Australian death metal upstarts Altars have premiered the new track “Husk” online. “Husk” hails from Altars’ highly anticipated debut album, Paramnesia, set for international release on September 6th through Nuclear Winter Records, the label of erstwhile Dead Congregation vocalist and guitarist A.V. and which has thus proven to be a tastemaker in the death metal underground. Altars’s “Husk” can be heard in its entirety just above!

For the past four years, Altars have been quietly honing their craft across a demo, two splits, and a single, but on the harrowing Paramnesia, the trio tear down all boundaries and set their sights for the abyss and ether alike. For Paramnesia is both death metal of a tangibly sepulchral, cavernously physical construct and yet brims with an almost-metaphysical levity as its serpentine structures and technical ecstasy work their black magick across its eight-song expense, reaching total transcendence during the final trio of tracks which comprise the three-part title track. Witness Altars’ Paramnesia and commune with unforgettable energies.

Paramnesia Track Listing:

01. Mare
02. Terse
03. Khaz’neh
04. Solar Barge
05. Husk
06. Descent (Paramnesia, part I)
07. Gibbous (Paramnesia, part II)
08. Ouroboros (Paramnesia, part III)


Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.